Item #0004061 A Naked Singularity; A Novel. Sergio de la Pava.
A Naked Singularity; A Novel
A Naked Singularity; A Novel

A Naked Singularity; A Novel

Chicago: The University of Chocago Prtess, 2012. First edition. First Printing. Paperback. 678pp. 8vo. Paper wraps. No dust jacket as issued. Book has a complete number line starting with 1. Originally published in a limited edition by the author in 2008 (Xlibris). This copy is unread, unmarked, tight, straight, and collectible quality. Fine / no dj. Item #0004061
ISBN: 9780226141794

From the blurb: "A Naked Singularity tells the story of Casi, a child of Colombian immigrants who lives in Brooklyn and works in Manhattan as a public defender--one who, tellingly has never lost a trial. Never. In the book, we watch what happens when his sense of justice and even his sense of self begin to crack--and how his world then slowly devolves. It’s a huge, ambitious novel clearly in the vein of DeLillo, Foster Wallace, Pynchon, and even Melville, and it's told in a distinct, frequently hilarious voice, with a striking human empathy at its center. Its panoramic reach takes readers through crime and courts, immigrant families and urban blight, media savagery and media satire, scatology and boxing, and even a breathless heist worthy of any crime novel. If InfiniteJest stuck a pin in the map of mid-90s culture and drew our trajectory from there, A Naked Singularity does the same for the feeling of surfeit, brokenness, and exhaustion that permeates our civic and cultural life today. In the opening sentence of William Gaddis’s A Frolic of His Own, a character sneers, "Justice? You get justice in the next world. In this world, you get the law." A Naked Singularity reveals the extent of that gap, and lands firmly on the side of those who are forever getting the law."

Price: $75.00 save 20% $60.00

See all items in Fiction
See all items by